• Cultural differencies in the classroom

    There are so many differencies in the classroom in Irelande if you compair with France.

    First of all students call lecturers by their first name whereas in France we call them by their last name. And lecturers/staff want that you call them by their first name. They ask you. At the beggining it was difficult because I always wanted to call them "Miss or Mister", but at the end it was okay.

    However people here aren't punctual. It is horrible! Everybody is late. For example lecturers often begin their lesson 15-20 minutes late (in one hour of course) and they finish 5-10 minutes early. Students can come in the classroom when you would. If they arrive 5 minutes before the end of lesson it is not a problem and they don't appologize themselves.


    Computers at school and during lessons are forbidden. But all students use their mobile phone for sending text, going on the Internet, and sometimes calling!

    Students can leave classroom whenever they would without say something. It is very weird !

    Irish students don't take any notes about the lesson. They just listen to the lecturer because all lessons are uploaded on Moodle (the network of the university). Everybody is quiet, no one speak with their neighbours.

     

    By the way I have some stories to tell you!

    I did a CA (continuous assessment) in Hospitality Management, but the lecturer lost my paper. I received an e-mail to tell me my mark which was O%. Very confused, I didn't understand and I decided to go to see my lecturer because it was not my fault. After a conversation, my lecturer decided to give me the mark of my second CA (80%) and she cancelled the 0%. It is a weird comportment but it is a good point for me.

     

    Few days after, I received another e-mail from Elizabeth (Management's teacher) to tell me that my blog (a CA) didn't answer to the subject so she gave me 0% again. I was very hangry because I had already done the same suject in France, in Human Resources and I had a good mark. I asked her an appointment to explain the situation and try to change her opinion. I succeeded and she gave me the average mark (40%) because she told me that if I didn't write anything, I would have 0% as well. I was not happy but I respected her decision. But, at the end of semester, she sent us an email to resume all the mark that we had and for this blog I had 77%. So I really don't understand how teachers give the marks. 

     

    I had a report and an oral presentation in Management, in group of two. I was with Linda, an Irish student. On the one hand, it was a good experience to work with her to discover how Irish work, but on the other hand, it was horrible because they have a very different method to us. They begin to work just few days before the deadline. The rules to edit a report are not the same. Referencing and bibliography are very important. When you write something in your report, you have to give the reference in the text, just after the idea even if you reformulate it and then, at the end of the report. 

    Irish students aren't used to do presentation. It was so funny because they were shy and not comfortable. They just read the powerpoint which was very basic, they don't look at the audience and don't speak loud.


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment



    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :